HOLLAND CHARTER TOWNSHIP BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Regular Meeting December 17, 2020

The Supervisor called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. via teleconference.

Present: Supervisor Terry Nienhuis, Clerk Michael Dalman, Treasurer Vince Bush, and Trustees

Gretchen Molotky, Elliott Church, Norm Nykamp, and Russ TeSlaa. Also present was

Township Manager Steve Bulthuis.

Absent: None

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited and Mr. Nienhuis gave the invocation.

Citizen's Comments: None

Mr. Nienhuis reviewed the consent agenda.

20-105 A motion was made by Mr. TeSlaa, supported by Mr. Bush, to approve the consent agenda including communications (Notice of a speed limit change on Westshore Dr. and Christmas greetings), operational reports (November report from the Ottawa County Sheriff's Department), and the minutes of the Board meeting held on December 3, 2020.

> All supported the motion Motion declared adopted

Mr. Dan Callam then gave an update report on activities regarding Project Clarity and the Macatawa Greenway.

The next agenda item was consideration of approval for the final preliminary plat for Hickorywoods Farm No. 5. Present to answer questions was Rick Pulaski of Nederveld and Associates. Board members asked questions.

20-106 Mr. Nykamp made a motion, supported by Mr. TeSlaa, to approve the final preliminary plat for Hickorywoods Farm No. 5.

> All supported the motion Motion declared adopted

The next item was the consideration of a Metropolitan Extension Telecommunications Right-of Way Oversight Act (METRO Act) Right-of-Way Permit renewal with Century Tel of Michigan. Mr. Bulthuis reviewed the renewal and stated that based on a review, it is recommended that the Board approve renewal Century Tel's ROW permit for five years, and authorize the Manager to execute the permit extension on the Township's behalf.

A motion was offered by Mr. Dalman and supported by Mr. Nykamp to approve the right-of-way permit renewal with Century Tel of Michigan.

> Roll call vote: Yes-7, No-0, Absent-0 Motion declared adopted

Next was consideration of a resolution to adjust fees for 2021. Mr. Bulthuis reviewed the resolution and changes.

A resolution was offered by Mr. Nykamp, and supported by Mr. Church, to adjust 20-108 Township fees for 2021.

> All supported the resolution Resolution declared adopted

20-107

Next was consideration of a resolution to amend the FY2020 Budget and establish a new Capital Project Fund 448 Master Plan Vision Fund. Mr. Bulthuis explained the rationale for this motion.

20-109 A resolution was offered by Mr. TeSlaa, and supported by Mr. Nykamp, to amend the FY2020 Budget and establish a new Capital Project Fund 448 Master Plan Vision Fund.

Roll call vote: Yes-7, No-0, Absent-0 Resolution declared adopted

Next was consideration of a Resolution to Approve Depositories for 2021. Treasurer Bush reviewed changes.

20-110 A resolution was offered by Mr. Nykamp, and supported by Mr. Bush, to approve the depositories for 2021.

All supported the resolution Resolution declared adopted

Mr. Church introduced and the Board had a first reading on the Ordinance for Approval of the International Property Maintenance Code (IPMC).

Mr. Nienhuis recommended several candidates as reappointments or to fill vacancies on Township Boards and Committees. He presented the following individuals as candidates. Mr. Doug Becker to be appointed to the Planning Commission to replace retiring Ed Zylstra. Bob Bouwkamp, Jack Harper, and Gordon Sluiter to be reappointed to the Construction Board of Appeals. Irv Boeve, Robert DenHerder, and LaVerne Hoeksema to be reappointed to the Economic Development Corporation. John Said to be reappointed to the Brownfield Redevelopment Authority. Last of all, Pete Beukema to be reappointed to the SmartZone Advisory Board.

20-111 A motion was made by Mr. Bush, and supported by Mr. TeSlaa, to reappoint Bob Bouwkamp, Jack Harper, and Gordon Sluiter to the Construction Board of Appeals for two-year terms ending December 31, 2022.

All supported the motion Motion declared adopted

20-112 A motion was made by Mr. Nykamp, and supported by Mr. Dalman, to reappoint Irv Boeve, Robert DenHerder, and LaVerne Hoeksema to the Economic Development Corporation for six-year terms ending December 31, 2026.

All supported the motion Motion declared adopted

20-113 A motion was made by Mr. TeSlaa and supported by Mr. Church to reappoint John Said to the Brownfield Redevelopment Authority for a three-year term ending December 31, 2023.

All supported the motion Motion declared adopted

A motion was made by Mr. Bush, and supported by Mr. Nykamp, to appoint Doug Becker to the Planning Commission for a three-year term ending December 31, 2023.

All supported the motion Motion declared adopted

20-115 A motion was made by Mr. Nykamp, and supported by Mr. Nienhuis to reappoint Pete Beukema to the SmartZone Advisory Board for a four-year term ending December 31, 2024.

Holland Charter Township 2 December 17, 2020

All supported the motion Motion declared adopted

Mr. Bulthuis reviewed one operational expense under other business. The request is for the purchase of an athletic field striper. Bids were received on two models. The recommendation is to purchase a Kromer Field Commander (DaVinci model) as described in the quote from Central Distributing Company, Inc. in an amount not to exceed \$20,369.

20-116 A motion was made by Mr. Nykamp, and supported by Mr. TeSlaa, to purchase the athletic field striper as presented above.

All supported the motion Motion declared adopted

Mr. Bulthuis shared his administrative reports. Board members also shared committee reports, updates, and wished Board members a Merry Christmas!

The meeting adjourned at 8:19 P.M.	
Respectfully submitted,	
Michael Dalman, Clerk	Terry Nienhuis, Supervisor

Holland Charter Township 3 December 17, 2020