Mission Statement


Doug Van Hekken, Fire Chief

Jim Kohsel, Deputy Fire Chief

Daniel Gillette, Fire Chaplain

Brian Wennersten, EMS Coordinator

Evan DeBoer, Fire Prevention

The Fire Department proudly protects more than 34,000 people living within an area of 29 square miles, operating out of three stations that protect residential, commercial and industrial complexes. The department consists of volunteer firemen who are paid on a per call basis. The Fire Department has an ISO rating of 4 in all areas of the Township. Staff can be contacted by phone through the non-emergency number at (616) 395-0196, by fax at (616) 396-2537 and by e-mail at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it